Not everyone is aware that the person drawing blood from their veins at lab appointments during doctor visits, pregnancy, or other health related issues is referred to as a phlebotomist. Many consider them lab techs; if they even give thought to their title at all. However, whether people know much about this profession or not, it’s a lucrative and respected career choice. Residents of the State of California can become a certified phlebotomist by taking the proper courses and meeting the proper requirements.
Phlebotomy Training in California
Before anyone can begin to practice phlebotomy in California, they must first meet specific requirements and complete the necessary training. All training applicants must have either a high school diploma or a GED. They must then submit an application to any of the state certified phlebotomist training schools. The application must be filled out in its entirety; applicants are required to provide their full name, contact information, Social Security Number, and all other required information. Incomplete applications will not be processed.
Once your application has been submitted and approved by the training program of your choice, you must then complete the necessary training requirements. Each California certified phlebotomist is required to successfully complete 40 hours of training at a state approved school, complete at least 40 hours of phlebotomy practice.
This practice must include a minimum of 10 skin punctures and 40 venipunctures. Following this, each applicant must pass the California State phlebotomy examination, apply for certification, and pay a $100 certification fee.
Applicants with more than 1040 hours of phlebotomy experience on the job must meet the same requirements, though they are only required to complete 20 hours of training at a state approved phlebotomy school.
City Specific articles for California
- Phlebotomy Training in San Diego
- Phlebotomy Training in Los Angeles
- Phlebotomy Training in Fresno
- Phlebotomy Training in Sacramento
Phlebotomy Certification in California
Once you pass your training courses and state certification, you are on your way to becoming a certified phlebotomist. The cashing of your $100 certificate check indicates that the state has accepted your application and it is under review. This process can take up to 90 days though most are processed sooner than this.
Once processed, your state certification will be mailed to you. You may not begin practicing as a phlebotomist until you receive this certification under any circumstances. Once you are certified, however, you may begin your new career.
Once certified, it becomes your responsibility to manage your certification.
This means applying all the knowledge and laws you learned in training each day on the job. It also means keeping up with the renewal of your certificate as well as the continuing education required to renew your certificate. In California, phlebotomist certifications are valid for two years from the date of issuance. During this time it is your responsibility to complete the six hours of required continuing education at a state approved school. Without proof of completion of your continuing education, the state will not renew your certification. Expect that your certification renewal paperwork to arrive approximately 60 days prior to its due date. Be prepared to pay the renewal fee, which is subject to change at any time, and wait to receive your new certification in the mail.
Sorry, we could not find any matching schools[table id=6 /]